top of page
Search
  • kateholtom

Learning to Lead

Updated: May 26, 2020

I have worked in education for over 10 years in a variety of roles. If you had told me when I was at school, that I'd end up back in one as a teacher I'd have probably had some choice words for you! I did not enjoy school as a teenager. However, as I grew up, had a child, lived abroad and learnt a couple of languages, I decided that I had a real empathy with young people and I wanted to see if I could make improvements on the experience I had.


I had my daughter and lived in Spain for around 5 years before returning to the UK. I had learnt French in order to communicate with my daughter's family and Spanish because that's where we were based. On returning to the UK I had 2 extra languages under my belt (my secondary French teacher would never have believed it!) I decided that I'd go in to teaching. I had zero experience and no formal qualifications but I did have drive and ambition.


I started to study for my BA(hons) in French and Spanish through The Open University. I applied for a job as a TA at the school I currently work at but was unsuccessful, I had no experience. Undeterred, I emailed my old secondary school, one of the teachers I remembered was still there, now as HoD. I asked to come and volunteer in the MFL department, I didn't want paying, I just wanted something to put on my CV! She was so incredibly helpful and took me on immediately. I spent a few months in classrooms with KS3, KS4 and A-level students - it was invaluable and I will be forever grateful for this step on to the ladder.


The following year I applied for the role of cover teacher at the same school as the TA job and was hired. It started as casual cover work (possibly one of the hardest jobs I've done) and then the role of support worker came up for the following year. I interviewed and was successful. I spent two years working with students individually and in groups to support them in difficult circumstances. I supported with behaviour, wrote CAFs and chaired TACs, worked with a wide variety of external agencies and all manner of parents. I loved it.


A restructure saw me move into my next role of learning mentor and I took a more academic approach to supporting students at this point. A new government initiative then saw the introduction of the Pupil Premium and I worked as a PP Champion alongside another colleague, all the while studying for my language degree. All these years of pastoral work set me in good stead for when I started my teacher training.


I trained through the academy group UTT, which was fantastic. I was teaching immediately and attending training weekly at our central school in London. During my training, I contacted my old school again to complete my second placement and once again the wonderful HoD there allowed me back. I then completed my NQT year and the HoD at that point sadly moved back to her home in Newcastle, leaving the position open.


Going from NQT to HoD was huge. The first year was a real learning curve. I was also an NQT mentor that year for a member of staff in my department and I so wanted to do a good job. There were a few ups and downs that year and I was lucky to have all the support I needed from SLT. I started to make some changes. I read and researched and redesigned. I probably made too many changes too quickly but I was keen!


Now I'm spending the last part of my third year in post leading my team remotely. No one could have prepared for this, but what an incredible team I've got! We've worked hard on developing our curriculum and resources and are really feeling successful. My team adapt incredibly well and create such well thought out lessons for our students, which are having excellent feedback.


I plan for my blog to hopefully inform and support others who are starting out on their leadership journey. I certainly don't know it all but I have appreciated reading about other's experiences and ideas and hope this blog will add to the pool!


66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page